Trust Yourself

Aloha from Maui! Vacation has finally arrived. For those who joined me on my 2-week cleanse, we made it to the end!

Before we kick off celebrations, however, I wrote a blog called 27. It was a retrospective on this past year – good, bad, and ugly. But you know what? I don’t want to do that.

Truth be told, I’m not interested in looking back anymore. I’ve done it already. All the lessons I’ve learned from this past year’s experiences have been well engrained in me, and my disposition is my proof.

So now I have new goals. In less than 24 hours, I will be 28 years old, and this will be the first year that I can remember that will begin with no held grudges, no anger, no punishment, and no resentment. I’ve been so inspired by this realization, that all I want to do is share my joy.

By focusing on peace and presence, I’m training myself to hear and trust my inner voice without negative interference from my past. This is what moving forward looks like to me. If I can grow to trust myself completely, I will be so much closer to the type of person I want to be.

And what does that person look like? Well, firstly, that person is fearless. And she always acts with integrity. She understands sacrifice and she sees the bigger picture. I want to forever be kind, generous, honest, compassionate, and loyal no matter what the circumstances. And I want to speak and live my truth openly, without any shame or judgment.

These are my new goals. And really they’re just continuations from before. But this is the lightest I’ve felt in a very long time, and it’s been humbling to finally know what this feels like.

It’s weird, really. I didn’t realize the weight of my burdens until they were relieved. But forgiveness truly has set me free.

Looking forward to the joys of 28. I’m off to get a drink!

TTYS, b

Leave a Reply

