Find Your Inspiration II

I wrote Find Your Inspiration almost two years ago, and it’s still one of my favorite and most-read posts. And since inspiration has been surrounding me so much lately, I decided to give part II a go.

My motivation has been up and down in the past month, sort of like my energy. But fortunately, inspiration has come kind of easy. And I love being inspired, which is why I keep my eyes peeled for it. So when I see inspiration, I’m quick with the kudos, and eager to soak up whatever it is I admire in others. Call me nosy, but I want to know their story. I want to know what and how they overcame, why they do what they do, and what keeps them going.  I especially love when I can witness it all firsthand. With that, here are my (current) top 3 sources of inspiration:

1. Tatiana Ward aka Beatfacehoney – So, I don’t know Tatiana. I’ve never met her. We have no connection outside of the internet. But her story is so encouraging and so amazing that I’ve been drawn to her for some time now.

I stumbled upon this makeup artist randomly on Instagram. I’m a big Brandy fan, and apparently so was she. So much so, that she asked all of her own Instagram and YouTube followers to comment on Brandy’s pictures asking if she can do her makeup. Crazy, right?! So, as I’m scrolling, all I see is “Please let @beatfacehoney do your makeup,” “@beatfacehoney is amazing,” and “check out @beatfacehoney.” I’m no Brandy, but I bit. And to my surprise, Tatiana was all of the incredible that her Beatface Brigade thinks she is. Her light just emanates from her. She’s undeniably and unabashedly humble, sharing all of her successes with her loyal supporters, followers, and fans. Following her journey from near-homelessness to celebrity makeup artist and entrepreneur has been refreshing. I admire her energy, her authenticity, her attitude, and her persistence. Mostly, I appreciate her boldness and her willingness to just go for it.

2. Peter’s Kettle Corn – Confession: I know Peter. Yes, the Peter of Peter’s Kettle Corn. His girlfriend is actually a great friend of mine, and she and Peter together have taken PKC to exciting heights – not to take anything away from the entire PKC team.

My husband and I had a dinner date with them a week or so ago, and we were blown away by how much the company has grown. From working flea markets on weekends to expanding into stores, it’s clear from watching their success just how far an idea and passion can go. In the time that we’ve known Peter, he has shown an unwavering commitment to his business. He’s developed both personally and professionally, giving his all to making the venture everything it can be despite ups and downs. There is absolutely no doubt about how hard and how purposefully he works. And having that sort of clarity of vision, determination, and belief in self is something I hope to carry into my own passions in the near future. PKC is an excellent example of execution. We can’t just talk about it, we have to be about it.

3. Friends – Now, short of a couple lost ones, I’ve been sort of lucky in friendship. I tend to surround myself with people who bring out the best in me. Maybe it’s selfish. Maybe it’s smart. But, I’d like to believe I do the same for them too.

One particular friend of mine has been full of positive energy and good vibes lately. And, had you seen her a year ago, you wouldn’t believe it possible. Just last year, she was dealing with heartbreak and having to start all over. Now, she’s reinvigorated, free, and hopeful. She’s happy, healthy, and enjoying life on her own terms with no attachments, fear or self-judgment. She is living proof that life goes on, and that nothing is ever as bad as it seems. Sometimes that’s all the reminder you really need.

So, these are just a few of my inspiration sources. And I’m sure with a quick look, I could find even more. But if you find yourself in a rut, try to notice the stories all around you. Use your own sources of inspiration to get you going, and you’ll see how a little admiration can go a very long way.

Let me know how you find your inspiration in the comments below. As always, I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

