Change of Plans

A year or more ago, I would have never believed that I would be able to find peace in chaos. I liked having a plan. I liked doing things right. I’ve never considered myself a go-with-the-flow kind of gal. And my husband can attest to how frustrated and obnoxious I would get when things didn’t go the way I intended.

I don’t think I’m that person anymore. Well, ok, maybe I still enjoy a good plan, but I’m definitely no slave to one.

I’ve discovered as I’ve grown that peace is my ultimate objective. I like being peaceful. I like resolving problems before they escalate. I like moving on to the next without any hard feelings. I like having tough conversations. And I like doing these things sooner than later because I know they’ll get me back to my happy place.

Historically, this sort of free-style living would give me nightmares. I’d obsess so much over the seamless execution of my original plan, that I would never quite appreciate whatever was achieved in the end. Keeping my plans together was exhausting. Stress would overwhelm me. I’d be burnt out by the journey alone, and not because it was a long way to go, but because of how uncompromisingly tight I held on to my plan. Worst than that, starting something new just wouldn’t even seem worth the trouble. It was paralyzing.

I don’t think I’m that person anymore. I don’t need to be right. I don’t need to have all the answers. I just need to get shit done. And however we get there, I don’t really care. This is true detachment.

Here’s the thing. When we fixate our minds on any one thing entirely, we operate with blinders on. Yes, sometimes things go smoothly. Sure. But, I would say more often than not, they don’t. So, while we’re wearing our blinders, we miss out on turns, on clarity, on opportunities, on help, and more. We only see what we want to see. We’re guided by our linear plan, blind to any other route that might lead us to success just as well or better.

How does this tie into peace? Well, I would say that someone who is determined to keep peace, will clear out all the junk in the way. And, someone who is determined to keep peace, will understand and accept that plans change. I’ve learned through experience and observation that things always work out some kind of way. And all of our madness and perfection and planning can work, but not without leaving a trail of internal disarray in its tracks.

As we’re all hitting the ground running with new goals, or furthering our longtime ambitions, let’s try to move forward peacefully. You run into a problem, fix it. Something doesn’t work out, move on to what will. Someone’s in your way, work it out and keep it pushing.

Keeping our desires in mind, while steadily working in the direction of our goals, is enough. We’ll soon notice that we don’t really need a strict step-by-step plan to success. Work hard, aim for peace, and notice how things just manifest in your life.

What do you think about peace and changing plans? Do they go hand in hand, or is stress too strong a competitor? Let me know in the comments below.

One thought on “Change of Plans

  1. Pingback: Trust Yourself | Happy is the New Perfect

Leave a Reply

