Freedom & Truth

The husband and I are GYSTing together again. This time, we’re cutting back on eating out. We’ve limited ourselves to just three times a week each, including the times we eat out together. Since I forgot about the challenge – and since I have little self-control when it comes to food – I’ve been done with my three since lunchtime Monday. Yes, Monday, as in day two of the week. But on the bright side, husband’s felt sorry for me and has been preparing my meals. I love being his wife. He’d rather have me happy than hangry. As would the world.

The other part of this GYST challenge is making myself write something everyday. Fortunately, I have a friend on board for this as well, which should (fingers crossed!) keep me motivated. I hope you’re sticking with your challenges, too.

Beyond GYST, I’m continuing my focus on personal freedom and truth. These two things have become increasingly significant in my life as I grow in my career, marriage, and other relationships, and it’s really paying off. I’ve been much lighter and happier these days in peaceful detachment.

How did I get here? Well, it wasn’t (and isn’t) easy. It’s taken a whole lot of forgiveness, awareness, and personal responsibility.

A huge change came about when I decided to make peace with my father’s absence from my life earlier this year. One of the most transformative steps was acknowledging that he will never be who I want him to be. But this alone didn’t truly make an impact on me until I acknowledged with my whole heart that I really didn’t need him to be. Once I got beyond being right, I was able to focus on being whole. I learned to fully embrace my truth, and ultimately, it freed us both.

Now, I understand everyone’s situation is different. Trust me, I get it. But what’s undeniable is the value of accountability.

When you know who you are, you can more easily create a healthy layer of separation from others. It’s not about removing them from your life, and it’s also not about having a full-on relationship when you really don’t want one. It’s about making the choice to live your own life presently without any attachment to outcomes.

Concerning ourselves with the actions or opinions of deadbeat dads, disapproving in-laws, exes, overbearing mothers, haters or frenemies is an unhealthy burden. And surely, we’re not doing ourselves any favors by being vindictive or spiteful back. I’ve been there. I know.

But, how do we free ourselves from this sort of negative motivation and truly live for ourselves? Well, we just do. We live to only prove something to ourselves, not to others. We don’t punish. We don’t judge. We value wholeness over partiality, reality over illusion, authenticity over deception. And we learn to set ourselves and others free from what we wish they would be.

Personal freedom, for me, is really just the realization that my life is my own. And truth doesn’t just keep me honest, it keeps me real.

What does personal freedom and truth mean to you? Let me know in the comments below.

One thought on “Freedom & Truth

  1. Pingback: Trust Yourself | Happy is the New Perfect

Leave a Reply

