Stay Encouraged

I have to say that I really love the support I get for this blog – especially when I haven’t written for a couple of weeks or so. It really keeps my going, and I’m so appreciative.

So with that said, my topic today is extremely fitting. In my last post, I had just landed a full-time job. After meeting new people and getting to know my boss, I can already say that I’m enjoying the atmosphere so far. And, unfortunately, I didn’t know for sure that I would.

My last two job experiences were, in my mind, incredibly traumatizing. I walked away from those situations extremely distrusting of employers and management. This affected my job hunt in the sense that I was overly skeptical. Even after accepting this position, I still expected the masks to come off so the true essence of the company would be revealed. It was a terrible attitude.

I have a learned belief that very little in this world deserves our blind faith. This might sound bad, but I actually think it’s quite wise. Still, I’ve overused this belief like an electric, barbed wire fence to protect myself. I’ve justified my attitude over and over again so that I wouldn’t be played again. At the very core, I was letting my traumatizing experiences from the past dictate my present.

My sister has this saying, that she probably doesn’t think too much of, and it’s simply: “Stay encouraged.” I’ve heard her say this a thousand times, and it’s probably based in some religious thing, but I’ve thought about this statement in great length this last week and it’s super applicable on all levels.

Stay encouraged is an acknowledgement that life is hard and it can go off course. But, at the same time, it’s also an acknowledgement of hope that things can and will get better. When you’re discouraged, as I’ve been on so many occasions, you believe the worse in people, in situations, and sometimes, in life in general. I’m not afraid to admit that I’ve been there.

But when you stay encouraged, you don’t allow yourself to reach total hopelessness. You change direction. You look up or beyond and you’re confident that this moment, no matter how long it lasts, is only a temporary hardship. This is where I am today.

It’s really not fair to make our present pay for the past. Take those occurrences in isolation. And, most importantly, maintain complete responsibility for yourself, your actions, and your thoughts.

So I had a bad job. It’s over. I should take this new situation for exactly what it is: new. That doesn’t mean to be naive, but it does mean to keep pushing forward through the good and the bad, and to understand that the only person you can control is you.

As we head into this new week, try to keep this in mind. And I’ll be doing the same. Stay encouraged, friends. Have a great week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

