Fake It ’til You Make It

Is anyone ever really sure of themselves? I mean, people do pretty amazing things all the time. Do you think they knew all along it was going to happen? Or that it was even possible? Or that they wouldn’t fail?

I often find peace of mind by assuming everyone is uneasy. I like to believe that their nerves and anxiety and shyness is just as bad as mine. Sometimes I just go all out! I assume they’re scared to death. That they have convinced themselves over and over again that if they do that thing, the world, as they know it, will end completely.

And once I get passed that point, I’m cool. Now we’re all on the same level. But then I look at those people again, and I realize that they’re still doing that thing. And the world hasn’t stopped turning. They’ve come out on the other side wholly unscathed. In fact, they appear to actually have a little more pizzazz. I soon begin to wonder… How do they do that thing they do so well?

It’s called confidence. And, believe me, it’s hard to get. Many might be surprised to hear that I have some major confidence issues. I’m just never too sure I’m doing, saying, or writing the right things. I sit and stare at the Do it anyway! line and quiver at what’s beyond it. Sometimes, I blaze right by it. Sometimes, I’m pushed. Sometimes, I’m pulled.

So confidence is tough. And, I swear, everyone sucks at it. But I have a secret that just might help: Fake it ’til you make it!

Yea, I said it. Fake it ’til you make it. And I stand by this, because it’s worked for me on so many different occasions. Here’s my reasoning: A person who acts confident can make just as many successful moves in life as a truly confident person because they’re doing the same things. And of the two, who really has the edge? Both are taking risks. Both appear to have it goin’ on. Ok, maybe the truly confident person doesn’t have to think as long and hard about actually doing certain things. But, then again, maybe they do.

Look, we are who we say we are. And the alternative is true as well. We have a funny (sad) way of limiting ourselves with our own super low expectations. I tell myself all the time: I’m not a good speaker... Or, I can’t run long-distance…  But, what if I acted like a person who could do all those things that I think I’m not very good at? I know good speakers. Why not act like them? Plenty of people run long-distance. Why not do what they do to get there?

Faking it doesn’t make you any less genuine. All it does is give you that extra push to be a better you. And who knows? Making it could be just around the corner. You may not be faking it for very long.

A useful quote to keep in mind is by Anthony M. Grant and Jane Greene. They state, “You don’t have to be 100 percent committed, 51 percent is enough.” So, ask yourself: are you more than half way ready for something new? Or, put differently, are you more than halfway fed up with something old? Great! Then you’re good to go on your goal.

None of us knows for sure that anything we do will turn out for the best. So why not give it a go anyway? What are your thoughts on this whole “fake it ’til you make it” thing? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Fake It ’til You Make It

  1. Hey B!
    I love this post! It is so true on so many levels. I have done this in my past and it has worked well, because before you realize it, you ARE it. People in LA have this down to a science. But at what point does ” fake it” move to just dang ” fake”. Would love to hear your POV. Keep up the great material!

    • Hi Brandi! Great to hear from you! 🙂 I know exactly what you mean… But my thoughts are this: If someone is totally consumed with the faking it part, and they’ve completely forgotten (or they just don’t care) about actually making it, then they’re destined for plain ol’ fakeness. “Fake it ’til you make it” is all about self-improvement. And like I always say, if you’re not getting better, you’re getting worse. So, for all those who really want to improve, they have to put in the work, it has to be personal, and it can’t just be for appearances sake.

      I hope that makes sense! I hope to see you soon! & Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

