Post #10: The Challenge

“Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity.” – Seneca

Wow! This is my tenth post and I feel like I’ve already come so far. A little known fact about me is that I’ve started a few other blogs in the past. I’ve even gotten all the way up to 17 posts without ever going public with any of them. So this is a big deal!

Publicizing this blog was a huge leap for me. And I have to admit that my inspiration was actually a challenge from a book I’m reading titled The Pursuit of Perfect by Tal Ben-Shahar (which I highly recommend). I’ve had the book for a long time now, but in an effort to avoid my demons, I had never opened it. As I was battling my unemployment blues–and while I had way too much free time on my hands–I finally decided to tear into it. And it was just as scary as I thought it would be. The book confirmed over and over again that yes, I am a perfectionist.

But it also inspired me to do something about it! On that fateful day, I made the decision to take on Ben-Shahar’s challenge, which was to do what I’ve always been afraid of, but have always known was necessary to my progression. In my case, it was allowing others to see my writing. And I must say, the results of that leap have been pretty amazing.

Just from opening myself up to criticism and failure and laughing and pointing, I’ve one: reached 10 posts, two: landed other gigs that I would have otherwise missed out on, and three: started to rebuild my confidence. I’ve also been privileged enough to hear stories of others, like me, who are also facing their fears head on by following their passions. Finally, I have work that I can proudly share without fear and self-doubt paralyzing me completely–and I have more support than I’ve ever imagined.

So with this post, I want to pose the same challenge to you that was posed to me:

Do something to improve your life. Do what will make you healthier and happier and more successful. No matter how hard or awkward or scary, prepare yourself to get lucky when opportunity strikes.

With each new post, I’m growing more and more happy with my ability to produce work that’s simply good enough. I’m not aiming for perfection anymore. (It’s impossible with the turnaround!) But I’m doing my best, and I know I’m getting a little bit better every day. So though 10 posts may not seem like much, it’s leaps and bounds from where I was at post one.

It’s true. Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity. And it all starts with you. Here’s to getting lucky!

Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Post #10: The Challenge

  1. Regarding perfectionism: It’s a great gift when you give yourself permission to totally screw up, to make a fool of yourself and not worry about what others may think. Maybe it comes with age, but it’s so freeing. It’s wonderful to have reached this point, because I’m one goofy woman. 🙂

    Regarding this post: Fantastic advice! What a brave woman you are! I’m taking this challenge. Thanks, Be’Anka.

    • I love your comments! I’m still working on that whole permission thing – but I’m definitely getting better everyday. I’m just so ready to be a goofy woman myself!! 😀

      & Good luck with the challenge. It’s been great for me so far!

Leave a Reply

