People, Processes & Technology

It’s come to my attention that I’m a lazy homemaker. Ok, maybe I’ve known about my shortcomings for some time now, but in the last few weeks, it’s been pretty bad. Like stepping over dirty clothes with no regard bad. What can I say? I’m busy. I work. A lot. I play. A decent amount. And when I’m finally home, there’s little more that I want to do than get right to bed and sleep.

Well, as much as I love to sleep, that’s just not going to cut it. So, I’ve been determined to turn things around- and just last night, I had my lightbulb moment.

I got the chance to attend a general user session for an enterprise cloud solution I manage for my job. My background has been in marketing, and a tiny bit of sales, but for the last several months I’ve been transitioning deeper into systems operations. The company demo’d some of their recent release features as well as their new mobile app. That stuff was all good and dandy, but what stood out the most to me – and perhaps it has a little to do with me being a Silicon Valley girl – was their strong and consistent emphasis on efficiency and user experience.

And that’s when it hit me: I’m not focusing enough of my efforts on the right things!

Technology is amazing. It has the potential to make our lives so much smoother, and our conveniences more convenient. But even the most well-intended pieces of technology can fall short if it fails to account for the experience of the end user.

So I got to wondering… who are the end users in my life? I thought about work: marketing and leads, sales and prospects, support and customers. I thought about freelance: clients, vendors. I thought about home: my husband, myself, my dog. Finally, I considered the systems involved for each party and person (and animal). And in that moment, it became clear to me just which systems could use a little TLC – which really, was all of them.

Since work has way too many moving parts, I’ll spare you that boredom and focus just on home. So if you believe like I do that success is the balanced union of people, processes, and technology, we should be able to easily break down our systems to find our weakest links.

Now, with the exception of my recent laziness, my home is complete with very eager people who are willing to make it run more efficiently. We burn out on work, but we’re both happy to help out around the house. Ok, so what about our processes? Well, we chip in here and there. My husband does the vast majority of cooking, and I always clean our room. How does technology work in our home? Hmm. We try to schedule our dates and events in Google Calendar, we have a washer, dryer, and dishwasher in our home. But we are severely lacking in storage.

The issues are clear, right? With very little structure, we’re allowing our messiness to spiral out of control. And although we have several storage ideas, we weren’t taking any action. We could potentially be excellent in the people department, but naturally, the whole is only as strong as it’s weakest link. By overlooking efficiency, we’ve simply been spinning our wheels. Had we considered the user experience sooner, we could have not only be more productive, but more energized as well.

After this evaluation, I made some adjustments. I found and implemented a daily cleaning schedule for the husband and I to share, I made a crucial Target run to pick up some storage units and other items, and I’ve refocused on the users in my home to ensure that their experience here is a pleasant, efficient, and clean one.

As always, our goal is not perfection. In this case, it’s simple efficiency. If we don’t hold ourselves accountable for bettering the systems in our lives, who will?

So, now it’s your turn. What in your life could benefit from a deep dive into people, processes, and technology? Are you making the most of your resources to get things done quickly and efficiently? Let me know your success secrets in the comments below. I look forward to hearing from you!

TTYS, b

Tada! My beautiful storage unit, and my shaggy (photobombing) dog. :)

Storage & Ollie

One thought on “People, Processes & Technology

  1. Pingback: The Support System | Happy is the New Perfect

Leave a Reply

